Lemon Olive Oil Cake with Sweet Lemon Icing

Lemon Olive Oil Cake 4

I have a calendar hanging on my refrigerator featuring this cake and its recipe for the month of April.  I only lasted about a week before caving in and deciding to make one for myself.  I’m so glad I did!  I had never tried a cake with a savory ingredient like olive oil before and was worried about it overwhelming the cake.  I was pleasantly surprised to find that the olive oil offers just enough flavor and is perfectly balanced by the sweetness and tanginess of the lemon.

Lemon Olive Oil Cake Collage

Lemon and Olive Oil Cake 5

Lemon Olive Oil Cake 1

Lemon Olive Oil Cake 2

Lemon Olive Oil Cake 3

Lemon Olive Oil Cake with Sweet Lemon Icing

by Dellalo

Print this Recipe

Cake

  • 3/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 cup plain Greek yogurt
  • 1/4 cup lemon juice
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 3 teaspoons baking powder
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour

Icing

  • 1 cup confectioner’s sugar
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice, plus more to thin glaze

Directions: Preheat oven to 350˚F. Grease bundt pan with olive oil, then dust with flour. In a large mixing bowl, combine oil, eggs, yogurt and lemon juice. Stir in sugar last. In another bowl, sift baking powder and flour. Once combined, slowly add the flour to the wet ingredients as you mix. Pour batter into the pan and bake for about 40 minutes. Test with a toothpick for doneness. It should come out clean. Remove cake from heat and allow to rest. Once it has cooled, flip it onto a plate. To create the icing, mix sugar and lemon juice together until smooth. Drizzle the cake once cooled and serve. Serves 8 to 10

Notes: I found that 40 minutes of baking time browned the outside of the cake quite a bit. If you would like your cake slightly more golden, try lessening the time to 35 minutes, but be sure to check the middle of the cake for doneness before removing from the oven.

Let me know if you make this cake and what you thought about it! I’d love to hear from you!

P.S.- I like to listen to music while I cook and bake, so I included a link to my soundtrack for this cake.  Can you tell I’m dreaming of warm weather?

http://8tracks.com/mixes/3280685/player_v3_universal

Surf Siren from Pinrose on 8tracks Radio.

Leave a Reply

